Getting Creative

Even though I’m only one week into marathon training, I’ve already found that it takes a lot of dedication and fine tuned time management skills to keep on my training schedule when “life happens”. 

I knew I wouldn’t be able to join my run club for speed work at the track last night because we were celebrating my awesome Mother-In-Law’s 60th birthday over dinner, but I had to get my workout in for the day.  I should have gotten up early but, as usual, I just couldn’t do it.  I know I said no excuses, but we were up later than normal the night before, thanks to my late night trip to the grocery store for some much needed supplies and besides, I’m terrible about getting up earlier than is absolutely necessary anyway.  Instead, I went with my back-up plan and decided that I would once again run to my in-law’s house.  After all, why drive 2.5 miles when I could easily run or bike there?!

I made sure to leave work on time so that I would have plenty of time to get home, change, recreate the scheduled track workout (2-3 x 1 mile at 5K pace with a 2-3 minute rest between repeats) and still get to my in-law’s house by 6:30pm for dinner.  I’m happy to report that I was only 3 minutes late!  🙂 

The repeats went really well – I felt good and legs felt really strong.  I only paused for a moment twice to catch the lights at Oak Park Avenue and Harlem, but still managed to run 2 sub-9 minute miles!  I opted for a 3 minute rest between repeats, but hindsight being 20/20, I really should have gone with the 2 minute option.  It almost felt like 3 minutes was too long, as I had my breathing well under control by 2 minutes.  Regardless, I felt good about the workout despite missing the track session with my friends.  Here are my stats for the first and second mile repeats:

Image

Mile 1

 

Image

Mile 2

Tonight I am looking forward to getting my training run in by helping others discover their love for running.  I will be helping to lead the 5K training portion of CARA’s (Chicago Area Runners Association) Beginning Running Program in Oak Park tonight and will be pacing a participant hoping to complete a 5K this summer.  So far, there is only one registrant for the 5K section, but that’s OK, it’s still nice to be able to help someone achieve a goal and it will be great fun – I just hope I don’t hold them back with my snails pace.  :-/

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

#RWRUNSTREAK Update:

Miles to Date: 55.6

Consecutive Days:  24

Miles to Goal:  74.4

Days Remaining:  15

 

Leave a Reply

