What a difference a day makes…

There is an old saying that goes “if you don’t like the weather in Chicago, wait five minutes”.  A comparison between yesterday’s weather and today’s is a perfect example of the crazy ups and downs Chicagoans face when it comes to weather in our beautiful city.  Yesterday, it was a suffocating 86 degrees (for those of us not used to the summer heat yet) with relatively low humidity and after an evening thunderstorm we were treated to a pleasant 70 degrees and 50% humidity today.  I don’t know if it was the Benadryl or the heat that made yesterday’s run slower and more difficult, but today I felt GRRREAT (as Tony the Tiger would say).  In fact I felt better than I have in a long time. 

After yesterday’s run I was less than excited to lace up and head out today.  I was honestly starting to feel a little discouraged that the 10 minute mile pace (for 3+ mile runs) I had become so good at sticking to over the last few weeks was starting to slide backward, and I was really feeling guilty for already missing two weeks of speed work in a row.  I attributed the decline in my pace to falling off the speed work wagon, despite working in some sprints and hills last week.  I don’t know if it was something I ate, or the nice change in the weather, but today’s run was pretty darn fast and I felt amazing the whole time.  There was no elephant on my chest or tree trunk legs today, just me and the road getting lost in my thoughts like the good ole days.  Sure, my calves started barking a bit right around mile one, but instead of focusing on them, I focused on the road ahead of me, refusing to let the negative thoughts take over.  Before I knew it the three miles were up and I had energy to spare.  In fact, I felt like I could have gone another 3 miles with no problems.  Here are my stats for tonight’s run:

Image

The only downside to tonight’s run was the intense hives and itchy neck I tried my hardest to ignore for the last mile.  I think I’ve figured out what the hive/rash on my neck is…apparently I’m allergic to something in or on my new Apple EarPods.  As soon as I got home and wiped my neck down with a cold wet paper towel the itch calmed and an hour later the hives have gone down substantially.  I guess it’s time for new earbuds!  Any recommendations?

Oh!  I can’t forget to send a very happy birthday shout-out to my awesome Mother-In-Law and partner in crime (I mean crafts)…Happy Birthday, Sue…I hope it is your best yet!  I look forward to celebrating with you tomorrow night!

______________________________________________________________________________________________________

#RWRUNSTREAK Update:

Miles to Date: 53.6

Consecutive Days:  23

Miles to Goal:  76.4

Days Remaining:  16

Leave a Reply

