TGIF!!!

We made it friends – HAPPY FRIDAY!!! 

This is the first weekend in about a month that I have not had a race, and that means – no 5am wake-up (except to take the dog out)!  I’m really looking forward to sleeping in a little bit tomorrow.  Unfortunately, I won’t be able to sleep in too long, since this is the last week of the quarter and I have two papers due (one by 9pm tomorrow and the other by 11:59pm on Sunday)…then I’m off for the summer!!! 

The timing couldn’t be any better since marathon training officially starts on Monday.  I’m also looking forward to spending some quality time with my husband since my race calendar clears up significantly over the summer.  That being said, I am a little worried about how I’m going to get through late August and September with work, school and the highest mileages of the training program on my plate.  Any words of advice are greatly appreciated!!

Luckily, I think my compromise to save my legs and keep my marathon dreams and streak alive is beginning to work.  I used Icy Hot last night (oh the burning…I really need to get to the store for a different brand) and rested my legs as much as possible during the day today.  Wearing heels to work was still a challenge, but the office was pretty quiet today so I was able to go shoeless for a while (we have a really nice super plush carpet at the office).  When I got home I immediately changed into flip flops to take the dog to the vet, which I think helped a bit.  There was definitely still some soreness during my run tonight, but nothing too terrible.  I tried to keep it slow, but still managed to keep my pace between 10 and 10:30 min/miles (I know this is slow for most runners, but it is fairly average for me lately).  I was really shooting for 10:30 to 11 (goal training pace for easy runs), but found it hard to get my legs to slow down that much…a great problem to have I guess!  Hopefully that is a sign that I am continuing to get faster. 

Regardless, my cool-down was super painful, as was the next hour after the run, but I’m happy to report that after some stretching and walking the pain has subsided to an annoyance at best and is no worse than it was all day today.  I plan to slather up with Icy Hot again (despite the burn) tonight before bed and keep my long run nice and slow tomorrow.  The goal is to get at least 6 miles in, but 10 would be ideal.  We’ll see how my legs feel.  Until then, here are my stats for today:

Image

Lastly, my #RWRUNSTREAK update for today:

Miles to Date: 23.79

Consecutive Days:  12

Miles to Goal:  106.21

Days Remaining:  27

Leave a Reply

