Never too busy for a quick run!

Well, I called it! I suspected I wouldn’t be able to get my rear out of bed this morning and my suspicion was correct! The dog got me up at 5:30am for her morning walk, and instead of putting on my running shoes and going for a run, I crawled back into bed for that last hour of precious sleep. I’ve never been a morning person and I am one of those people who “needs” at least 8 hours of sleep a night to be a functional member of society.

Because I didn’t run this morning I wasn’t left with much time to run tonight. I left the office a little late again and rushed home to let the dog out before heading to Lincoln Park to pick-up my packet for the race this weekend. Luckily traffic wasn’t too bad, but it still took me over 2 hours to get there and back. I raced home in an attempt to beat the storm and get at least a mile in before sitting down to get some homework done. I refuse to break the streak!!

My calves were a bit sore tonight – I suspect it’s from the barefoot cool down yesterday, plus I’ve been struggling with a strange pain on the front/left of my left leg. It’s definitely a muscle ache (not shin splints), but is in a strange spot and I can’t figure out how to stretch it. Regardless, I ran a decent mile, especially since I wasn’t going for an all out effort. Here are my stats for tonight:

Image

Also, since I mentioned I wanted to double my miles from last years run streak, I thought I would keep a tally of the miles logged at the bottom of every post starting tonight:

#RWRUNSTREAK Miles to Date: 5

4 thoughts on “Never too busy for a quick run!

  1. Fellow non-morning person here! If I’m not meeting someone for an AM run it’s a struggle to get myself out there. Also, I’ve had weird pain in that spot before. What I do is cross my left leg over my right leg, point my toe, and then pull my toes toward me. Hard to explain. Remind me to show you!

  2. I like the addition of the mileage log. For extra motivation, add the number of consecutive days, too. I have found it easier to keep going as that number gets bigger (“I’ve already run 23 days in a row. I can’t stop now!”)

Leave a Reply

