Oh the humidity!

Today was my first training day in about two weeks and if I didn’t know better, I would have thought I went to sleep in Chicago and woke up in Florida today. The humidity was high all day as was the temperature. I really didn’t want to go for a run tonight, but I successfully guilted myself into running three miles to ensure I was prepared for this weekend’s 5K and my next half marathon in late June. Also, marathon training doesn’t begin until June 10th, but that doesn’t give me license to be lazy for the next two weeks, right?!

Tonight’s run was a sweaty one…3 miles + 75 degrees + 75% humidity = mandatory shower! The run went well, considering I really haven’t run much since the half marathon just over a week ago. I was happy that my pace was comfortable and right on target with my previous 3 milers in April and May. Here are my stats for tonight’s run:

Image

I am still adjusting to running in the warmer weather, but I’m getting there. I’m sure the run streak will help, since I will be running every day – hot or cold, rain or shine! Tomorrow promises to be just as humid as today, but much hotter (85 degrees!). I will have to focus on hydration in preparation for speed work tomorrow night. Let’s see if I can also get a handle on nutrition for speed work days too. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

