Half-Marathon…Take 2!

Image

Well, today I finished my second half-marathon!  I wasn’t sure if I would ever run another half after my first in January this year, but a friend mentioned she wanted to run one and I volunteered to help her train and get across the finish line.  It was a beautiful morning in downtown Chicago.  A little on the muggy side, but the sun on my face and the lake breeze felt awesome.  After a full fledged carbo-load yesterday I was feeling great.  I had my usual pre-race Wisconsin Mac and Cheese from Noodles and Co. for lunch, and the most delicious gnocchi I have ever tasted at a fun birthday dinner with my in-laws – for the record, A Tavola (http://atavolachicago.com/) is fabulous!!  For breakfast I had my usual can of Diet Coke and a Blueberry CLIF bar – breakfast of champions!  🙂  This combo always works well for my races, anything heavier and I risk a sloshing stomach, anything less and I tend to bonk pretty quickly. 

The race got under way at 7am and I felt great through mile 4 when we stopped for a nature break.  I took this as an opportunity to eat a CLIF Shot and fuel up for the next third of the race.  We got back under way and kept a nice and steady pace through the turn around to about mile 7 – the farthest my friend has ever run!  We finished up the race on a run/walk plan – but I’m happy to say, we finished!  Back in January I had a friend help me through my first half, and I was glad I had an opportunity to pay the favor forward.  Today was not about time for me, it was about helping another runner and friend achieve a lifelong goal.  I am so incredibly proud of her for having the guts and determination to set out in achieving this goal and for not giving up no matter how much she may have wanted to.  I don’t know if it’s the runner’s high talking or if I’m just “half crazy”, but today has inspired me to want to run another half…and soon!  I’m thinking about the Chicago Women’s Half in June…we’ll see!

3 thoughts on “Half-Marathon…Take 2!

Leave a Reply

