A Sub-30 5K!!!

I did it!  I ran a sub-30 5K!  Today, at the Pink 5K I ran a 29:06 – a whole minute faster than my last 5K!  I’m particularly pleased with this time because the course was much hillier than what I’m used to.  For example, on a typical training run in Oak Park, I will gain only 9 to 15 feet, but today, I gained 50 feet!  What an amazing feeling it is to finally achieve this goal.  PR’s are fantastic all the way around, but shaving a whole minute off of my current PR is the icing on the cake.  I know it’s way too early to be seeing results from the speed work, so I am very excited about what future 5K’s hold for me.  Now that I have finally achieved a sub-30 time, my new goal is to run a sub-25 5K.  I know this is going to be difficult and could take some time, but I also know that with determination and proper training, I can do it!

Race Recap

The Pink 5K is put on by the Oak Brook Park District, and is in it’s third year.  $5 of the $20 entry fee is donated to help fight breast cancer.  According to the OB Park District, this year, the beneficiary was “Open Arms-Hinsdale Hospital Foundation’s Breast Cancer Outreach Fund.  The foundation will utilize the donation it receives from The Pink 5K for their 40-40-40 program in October which will provide 40 free mammograms for 40 women over 40 years of age“. 

The race has grown by leaps and bounds since it’s inaugural race three years ago.  Last year, I ran the race (in the pouring rain) and there were 436 individual finishers.  This year, there were 944 individual finishers!  Clearly, this is a newer and smaller race than most in the area, but it is well organized and the course is challenging for those of us who aren’t used to hills.  I thoroughly enjoy this race (rain or shine), it is one of my favorites based on the cause, course, and great organization.  I highly recommend this race to all of my Chicago area running friends.

My Race Stats 

Overall Place:  201 of 944

Female Age Group Place:  13 of 77

Image

 

One thought on “A Sub-30 5K!!!

Leave a Reply

