Speed Work – 1; Carrie – 0

Tonight was the first time I have been on a track in (too many ;)) years.  I joined my running club for the speed work season opener and quickly realized that being able to run double digit miles does NOT mean you are in shape!  The good news is I had a great time, met a few new people and am looking forward to next week already.  I can already tell that this is going to do wonders for getting my times down.  I definitely have a long way to go, but I am determined to see this through to the end, no matter how much it hurts! 

Tonight we began the session with a quick 3/4 mile warm-up and static stretching.  We then moved on to some dynamic stretching and warm-ups which really got my heart rate up (like I said, this girl is out of shape) and my stomach in knots (must remember to eat an early lunch on speed work days). 

I was already out of breath when we moved on to the actual speed work.  We did 6 strides (build up speed for 50 meters and hold for another 50 meters, recover and then repeat) and then 4×400 at 5K pace.  I have to admit, I ran the 400’s a bit faster than my current race pace, but according to the McMillan Running Calculator (http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/) my paces were right on target for reaching my goal of a sub-30 5K sometime soon.  According to the calculator, I should technically be able to run a full marathon in under 5 hours with proper training…amazing!!!  Now, for that proper training…

2 thoughts on “Speed Work – 1; Carrie – 0

Leave a Reply

