And so it begins…

“Keep your dream in front of you. Never let it go regardless of how farfetched it might seem.”
-Hal Higdon
For the next five months, I will live by these words. I have chosen to run the Bank of America Chicago Marathon in October, which means I will be training through the heat of summer…rain or shine, 80 degrees or 100. I have never run further than 13.1 miles, but by the end of my training I will have doubled this distance. When I think about it too much, it seems impossible…how could I possibly achieve this goal. Will my body allow me to go the distance? Mind over matter right? It has become obvious to me that not only do I have to train my body to handle the distance, but I have to train my mind as well. I have to keep my dream and my goals in mind as I go forward on this journey.

4 thoughts on “And so it begins…

  1. Looking forward to meeting you at the finish line! I do my long runs in Glen Ellyn on Sunday if you ever want to join my 10 minute pace group. We start at 6:30am though…

      • I also noticed on the Oak Park Runners Facebook page that several other people are going to Waterfall Glen on Saturdays. Also early (7am). You might want to consider both options.

Leave a Reply

